Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
madmare
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

19-09-2012, 07:54 AM

Respect

I was watching a police programme on tele the other night and children as young as 6 years old were effin and blinding at the police when they stopped to talk them as they were causing criminal damage.
I see the children round here with no respect to anyone or anyones property. When I worked in a school the children including the new ones starting had no repect for the teachers.
What went Wrong?
When I was young if you saw a policeman coming you would always be respectful as they always held that little bit of fear to you. Not in the way you wouldn't go for them for help if you got lost, but you never wanted to be on the wrong side of them as they would give you a good clip round the ear and tell your parents and then God help you as you would get another from your parents and be grounded. If you cheeked the man down the road or he saw you misbehaving he would clip you round the ear, even if he did not know you. You learn't to always respect your elders as nothing else would be tolerated at home or in society.
I think its because then along come the do gooders who said nobody must lay a hand on children as it would turn them violent, the cane must be abolished and teachers and police must not lay a hand on children. Children being very bright soon learn't that nobody could touch them so they could get away with stuff, so that generation grew up knowing their elders could do nothing so got a slightly more don't care attitude. Then of course they had children and so on and everygeneration had more and more rights as children and parents became more and more under scrutiny not to smack their children and stopped following through threats as there was no back up from anywhere.
None of the kids in my year grew up violent for recieving the cane or being clipped round the ear etc and all seemed to go on to have very good futures and were law abiding.