Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
missyj
Dogsey Junior
Female 

15-01-2013, 08:22 PM

Adopted BIG dog .. training advice needed

Hi all, im Lisa. I ave just adopted a 20 month old rottie x staffie. He is a beautiful but big powerfull dog.

In his previous home he was clearly the alpha dog but was given some basic obedience training such as sit, paw and leave! Sadly tho he was not given ANY leash training and rarely got talken out for walks.

when I picked him up and walked him home he pulled the hell out of me... I am only a small woman!

I started training with him straight away and belive he is startin to c me as alpha as he follows me around the house, listens and follows my very command, is now using submissive body language and constanly looks at me for direction.

I have been leash training him inside my house and he is now after just 4 days walking on loose leash to heel and is totally focused on me .. He seems to luv this training and get excited when I get the leash. I have now taken this training to the garden and he is doing well .. occasionally his attenstion will wonder but wiv a quite voice command he's back on point ... BUT ...

as soon as I open the garden gate he turns into turbo dog ... Pulling me and lunging forward. His stance changes and his eres prick up!

does he just need more time training in the garden?

is there any other tips any1 can give me please?

I really want to take him for nice long walks as I no all dogs need their daily exercise!

TIPS PLEASE xx
Azz
Administrator
Male 

15-01-2013, 08:51 PM
Hi Missy

Well done on rescuing

Re training, the alpha/pack-leader school of thought is considered out-dated nowadays. Check out The Culture Clash by Jean Donaldson (book)

Re pulling have a look at this thread and the threads it links to (there's a Dogs Trust video that's worthy looking at in one of them): Staffie which pulls when excited