Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
juliepup7
New Member!
Female 

15-11-2012, 07:22 PM

I need urgent help with a severe separation anxiety dog

hello everyone, my name is Julie and I live in southern california. i have 4 dogs, all of varying breeds and ages, and they all get along great. my third oldest, Honey, is suffering from severe s.a. she is a pit/GSD mix, 3 1/2 years old. she is the sweetest, most loving dog you'll ever find, but this problem has gotten so bad i'm feeling like i'm being backed into a corner here. she has always had bad s.a. even as a pup, but i worked with her (i'm a certified dog trainer, go figure lol) and she got slowly better with being left alone in her crate. she even went about 8 months without so much as an accident in her crate or a single complaint from the neighbors. two weeks ago, however, she started getting worse again. her anxiety signals started increasing as i got ready to leave, and she started peeing in her crate again. then yesterday, she ripped up her crate and the carpet the crate was sitting on, pooped, and peed. i can't do this anymore. i can't tell you how bad it's gotten...i can't even water the yard without her freaking out. i can't leave my own house, i'm a prisoner because of her (not that she means to do this, i know). i need to stop being so tied down by this dog and it breaks my heart knowing that she is in such a blind panic when i'm gone, it's not fair to her. i'd like to go to moorpark college eventually to get a degree in exotic animal training, but i can't because of this dog...there's no way i could leave her alone for that lenth of time every day, 6 or 7 days a week. i'm at the end of my rope...why is she getting so much worse, when she was doing so well before? i can't afford to not go to work during the day, i can't do this with her any more. i love this dog to death, i'd take a bullet for her, but this isn't working for either of us. i've tried every training method and desensitizatio