Our sister sites
Our sister sites
mj
Dogsey Senior
Female 

01-10-2008, 05:05 PM

I need advice- re-homed a cat!

Hi Everyone,

well as some of you may know we are moving back to the Uk next month Paul's being in the uk this week looking for a house to rent and he's found one, but it comes with a cat

It's a sad story the elderly couple who used to live there well the man died and the lady has alziemers and cant look after herself and has gone into a home, but they have left a cat behind, it keeps coming back to the house they have a cat-flap on the garage door and a neighbour has been feeding it i've no idea whether its a boy or girl how old it is all i know is its black and white

The agent has asked if we will take it on as the family have asked her to re-home it..

I have no experience of looking after a cat so dont know where to start. We have said we will have it i cant bear the thought of it homeless or worse!

I just hope Max doesn't try to eat it but i guess the house is the cats terriotory we may be ok..

I could do with some advice with regards to looking after the cat and also getting max introduced

The boys and I move over in three weeks but Max isn't joining us until a month later any thoughts would be good

It's all a bit scarey!
Hali
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

01-10-2008, 07:02 PM
If you can look after a dog, you'll easily be able to look after a cat, they're sooo much easier

I must admit I didn't have a clue when I first took my two on (as adults) but they were the easiest pets I have ever had. I'm sure you'll be fine

Introducing them to Max might be a bit more difficult if he isn't used to cats and the cat isn't used to dogs. I think the main secret is trying to get the cat to realise she doesn't have to run when she sees the dog - its the chase that gets most dogs excited, so if the cat doesn't run, usually the dog won't chase.