Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
vincegraff
New Member!
Male 

14-03-2013, 04:50 PM

Would you clone your dog?

Hi there. I am a journalist writing an article for the Daily Mail newspaper.

There was a fascinating article in The Guardian the other day about a Korean company that is offering to clone British people's pet dogs. It was headlined "if your dog is about to die, why not clone it?" The company's idea is that it will create a genetically identical puppy of your loved one.

Here is the Guardian piece
http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/sh...-it?CMP=twt_fd

What do you think of the idea? I would like to get in touch with any UK dog owners who find the idea appealing. If that's you, might I be able to chat to you on the phone for five or 10 minutes to hear your thoughts, so that I can include them in my article?

Thanks ever so much!

Vincent Graff
zoeyvonne
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

14-03-2013, 04:59 PM
No I never would, although it is nice to think we could keep our loved ones forever, circumstances life and encounters make your dog who they are to a large extent, where it would be genetically correct, it's life experiences would differ greatly from that of a dog you had for 10+ years, and you would start over a whole new experience with a new dog destined to be second best, that is unfair.

ooops sorry I should have read your request properly and just jumpd in with a reply, sorry
petitsfilous
Dogsey Junior
Female 

14-03-2013, 05:01 PM
Okay... I find this really morbid and quite creepy. I don't think I would want that.
petitsfilous
Dogsey Junior
Female 

14-03-2013, 05:03 PM
'A researcher in South Korea claims he can clone your pet. All he needs is some tissue from the animal and £66,000'

petitsfilous
Dogsey Junior
Female 

14-03-2013, 05:08 PM
"Surrogate mothers don't have to be the same breed," explains Hwang. "A great dane could, in theory, be the surrogate for a chihuahua puppy.