Our sister sites
Our sister sites
sprat
New Member!
Female 

22-05-2007, 07:23 PM

Un-neutered Boxer's strange behaviour

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie!!

I have a 3 year old un-neutered boxer called Geordie.

We have recently moved into a property which needs some renovation work. He currently has his bed in the kitchen. We had to take up the flooring in the kitchen due to a leak, so it's currently just concrete at the moment (all this will become relevant soon I promise!!)

Geordie has always been quite good at letting us know he wants to go out, but just recently, he's just been urinating on the kitchen floor, even after being out for a walk.

This is frustrating because we can't clean it up properly due to the concrete, but also because we know this is not his normal behaviour.

He's also started taking to just moping in his bed all day, although he's eating well, drinking well and is in very good spirits when he sees someone new, most of the time he's just sad!

We have been told that because of the concrete floor, Geordie thinks he's already outside, but we're also wondering whether it could be because there are a few bitches in season in our area, and we thought that this maybe his behaviour because he can smell them?????? Or am I way off the mark and should get him to a vet?

It's like having an old dog, but he's only 3!!!

Any ideas?
majuka
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-05-2007, 07:51 PM
Hi Sprat and welcome to Dogsey :smt039 :smt039

Do you think Geordie is missing your old house, maybe his old walks and doggy friends there and that is why he is moping about?

Has he ever lived in kennels - just wondering if that is why he is peeing on the concrete? I've no idea if it has anything to do with the bitches in season - hopefully someone more knowlegable will see your post soon and be able to answer!