Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
mj
Dogsey Senior
Female 

12-03-2007, 11:54 AM

Clicker Training!!

Well its arrived my clicker and book whick i ordered form the uk.
my mum brought last week i've read the little book that it comes with from cover to cover and looks pretty straight forward (sure im been nieve)
the books by sarah whitehead.

has anyone got any handy tips as Max already knows sit,leave and paw thought i would start by reinforcing these with the clicker is this a good way to go about it??

going to have a training session this afternoon whats the ideal length of time for a session?

He's 4.5 months old.

thanks
poodle-mad
Dogsey Junior
Female 

12-03-2007, 04:36 PM
Hi ya, I'm new to clicker training too, I have got Mary Ray's books on this and I have seen a demostration by her at crufts dog show.At the moment I feel arkward with it, but as long as you click when the dog gets whatever your asking correct and treat straight away, it seems to work. I'm trying it with my 3mth old standard poodle and so far he has learnt sit,down,stand and come. Reinforcing the commands your dog knows sounds a good idea. it will help him learn to associate the sound with commands and treats and maybe improve the responce time. good luck. Keep trying and let me know how you get on with the clicker.
Erin
Almost a Veteran
Female 

12-03-2007, 04:45 PM
i have used clicker training with both of mine,they reacted really well to it,but only if i use treats too,if theres no treats my 2 just arent intrested
bribiba
Dogsey Senior
Female 

12-03-2007, 05:10 PM
Clicker training is not my idea of fun for a dog. They taught it to rats in a lab. I know you all love your dogs, so treat train, don't click. Would you train your children this way, I doubt it. I have trained dogs for 30 years and have never failed to get good results from praise and treats..clicking hmmm.
Wysiwyg
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-03-2007, 06:13 PM
Originally Posted by bribiba View Post