View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Emma.b
New Member!
Female 

02-06-2012, 07:36 PM

Looking for some good basic home cooked food recipes to feed my dogs?

I have a adult collie and puppy pom both have upset bellies at the min due to changing foods. There currently being feed plain white rice with either chicken or egg.

And I've been thinking I might carry on feeding home cooked if its cheap enough. If not I'll feed half kibble half home cooked. But I'm new to all this so I wanted to know if any1 has some good food ideas that I can feed my 2.

Any help will be much appreciated x x
Dobermann
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

02-06-2012, 07:42 PM
You'll probably get a variety of answers here. Have you thought about rawfeeding? Thats one avenue thats easy and healthy when done right. Apart from that I dont feed a lot of veg so mainly meat is what I'd say and raw bones.
Only other thing I can think of is steamed fish and rice or liver and rice etc.

I'm sure that someone with a better answer than mine will come along who home-cooks for their dogs though.
navan
New Member!
Female 

02-06-2012, 08:38 PM
my shih tzu loves baked cod fillet and brown rice
Polarbear2008
Dogsey Senior
Female 

02-06-2012, 09:50 PM
I have several dog food recipe books with quite a lot of home cooked recipes for meals in them. It depends how much cooking you want to do but I could get you the book titles if you like. Here is an example recipe:

Chicken Cut Casserole
1 1/2 cups boiled chicken cut into bite size pieces.
1/2 cup cooked brown rice
1/2 cup of boiled vegetables (carrots, pumpkin, potato, celery etc..)
3 tbsp unsalted chicken broth
Put all ingredients together in a big casserole dish (or saucepan) and heat for 20 minutes. Wait until the casserole cools to room temperature and serve to your salivating dog.

There are plenty more but as I said, it depends how far you wish to go. Please let me know if you'd like the titles
Emma.b
New Member!
Female