Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Bitkin
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-01-2011, 11:02 PM

Vet Nurses......Then and Now

I know that Tupacs is a Vet Nurse, and am hoping for her input here as well as any other VN's out there.

Some 45 years ago I was a Vet Nurse, and although I loved it the pay was appalling and eventually I had to give it up to become a boring old Secretary! The minimum O level requirement was 5 which had to include a Science (mine was Biology) and English. The training was two years living in with a vet, plus night school. At the end of this, I was qualified to do the nursing bit of course, plus develop x rays; do worm counts on horse/pig/cow dung; prepare dead animals for post mortems; give intramuscular and subcutaneous injections; assist with operations; sterilise equipment etc. etc. All rather mundane compared with what I believe that Vet Nurses are now qualified to do.

On our frequent visits to the vets, the Nurses seem to be very much more at the sharp end of treatment, and certainly do very much more than I ever did. I assume and hope that the pay is correspondingly better too!!!

Given that our dogs are now as much in the hands of the Nurses as the Vets when we leave them for operations etc., I would love to hear the up to date version of Vet Nursing. I was proud of what I did (for £2.50 a week!) but sometimes wish that I was a modern Vet Nurse.
DevilDogz
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-01-2011, 11:04 PM
Look forward to reading some replies as I have just applied to do some volunteer work at ours vets with the aim of training as a student vet nurse come June/July
Bitkin
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-01-2011, 11:10 PM
Originally Posted by DevilDogz View Post
Look forward to reading some replies as I have just applied to do some volunteer work at ours vets with the aim of training as a student vet nurse come June/July
Oh well done you - I am sure that you will find it so rewarding. Much more so than when I did it
gsdgirl:-)