Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Reisu
Almost a Veteran
Female 

22-08-2010, 09:18 PM

Riding schools

I might be starting to learn soon (only been waiting 15 years or so ) but being a complete novice I'm unsure of what to look for in a riding school. There aren't any BHS approved places near enough to me that I can see (not sure if that's important or not anyway!), but there are plenty of livery yards that offer lessons. Any info on what to look for, what kind of prices are reasonable etc would be most welcome
Fudgeley
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-08-2010, 09:22 PM
I would be bothered about insurances, qualifications of teachers, numbers in a class, variety of horses, facilities for hacking,jumping etc and whether they have am all round facility or will lessons be cancelled if ground becomes frozen.We pay £25 for a 30 minute private lesson but group lessons are £18 for up to ten riders for an hour....
ClaireandDaisy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-08-2010, 07:28 AM
Agree with above. At the very least I`d want a qualified instructor (BHSAI is fine) and evidence of insurance.
Moobli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-08-2010, 08:02 AM
I basically agree with everything Fudgeley has already said. The riding school I used until recently (unfortunately haven't the time to continue at the moment ) was £33 for an hour's private lesson.
madmare
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-08-2010, 08:23 AM
I think starting off I would be wanting a BHSAI approved place and riding a horse thats not your own you would need that insurance cover they have.
However saying that when I had my own horses the best two instructors I have ever had in my life were not qualified but very very good and experienced and taught you the best way to ride "Your" horse not just basic one fits all.
For the basics though certainly nothing but BHSAI approved.
Razcox
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-08-2010, 08:38 AM