Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Anne-Marie
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-01-2008, 03:20 PM

Does Anyone Here Judge?

Just curious if we have any judges amongst our members?

Being nosey really!!! If so, be lovely to see who judges which breeds and how long they have judged etc. Your story so to speak!
surannon
Dogsey Senior
Female 

21-01-2008, 03:45 PM
I have to say I love judging! There's nothing like giving yourself a headache coz you're trying to decide which of the three or four fabulous dogs you've got in front of you is going to win! The downside is trying to decide which of the dogs in front of you to put up when you have a class of dogs that are - how shall we say - not so desirable

I judge the Hound, Toy, Utility and Terrier Groups and BIS at Open level and award CCs. I've been judging at Open level and above since 1991. I judged at Crufts in 1998 with no CCs (in a breed I had back then) and am doing the breed I've had for 25 years with CCs there this year - something I'm very much looking forward to! I've also done our Club Ch show in this breed too, which was my first ever CC appointment.

Judging is something I feel very strongly about. Judges must judge the dogs in front of them without fear or favour and with total honesty.

My biggest disappointment was withholding a Reserve CC. It was an awful thing to have to do but when you read the writing on the green cards you realise what you're putting your name to! If the quality is not there judges must withhold IMO.

My best moment was finding what I consider to be THE best example of my breed I've ever seen when judging at East of England Ch show one year. All I wanted to do was keep staring at this gorgeous vision as he went round the ring!

Debs
Muddiwarx
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-01-2008, 06:03 PM
I have judged Malamutes ......... only twice so far but was fun
Nursey
Almost a Veteran
Female 

21-01-2008, 08:04 PM