Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
shiba
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

27-11-2006, 11:02 PM

Raw Food - Advice Please!!

Hi, as many of you know, i am the proud owner of a 9 week old newfie.

At the moment i am feeding her 4 meals a day. 3 meals are a mix of royal canin giant babydog puppy food and tripe mix and the 4th meal is readybrek, made with goats milk and an egg popped in.

I have seen things mentioned on here about raw feeding but i am a complete novice so please put up with me. Can i add to royal canin food some raw liver,hearts, kidneys or a mixture of all or is it not that simple and i need to do a complete raw feeding diet. I was thinking just maybe one or two meals a week.

Or would it be best just to cook it and mix. I am trying to find some other idea's to keep her food interesting.

thanks any advice welcome
ramoth
Dogsey Junior
Female 

28-11-2006, 12:16 AM
Hi,

I feed all three of mine on a completely raw diet, I think the general opinion of those who write the books is that it is best to feed all raw or all not. One of the problems you may find with mixing a good quality kibble along with raw meat especially with a very young pup is that they may end up with too much of certain protiens etc which is just as bad as not enough. Although I am a big fan of whole foods it is something that you really have to research well and decide whats best for you and your little one.

Hope this is of help to you, wishing you luck in your quest

p.s it is a fallacy that dogs get bored with food, they have half the tast buds we do and have three main responses to food, Tastes good, Tastes bad, and indifferent. Obviously if something tastes good they will eat it, but they will never go "oh no not beef again"
JR - Tilly
New Member!
Female 

28-11-2006, 12:12 PM
Hi,