register for free

Member Profile

New Member! Miriam John is Female

Miriam John

Miriam John's Profile Picture

Location: Vermont, USA

Last Activity
Join Date
Total Posts
Posts Per Day
Online status
Miriam John is offline

Recent Visitors

The last 10 visitor(s) to this page were:

About me

Hi, my name is Miriam and my passions are animals, ceremony, and travel. I currently have two dogs: an elderly terrier mix named Lovey, and a young border collie/lab/Aussie mix named Chante Washté, which is Lakota for beautiful heart. I have always known that animals would play an important part in my life, and now, caring for elderly Lovey and raising my first puppy Chante, the vision of my life work with animals is becoming clearer, though I'm still not sure how exactly that vision will manifest. I believe there is always more we can learn from our animal friends when we open our minds and hearts and observe their culture in a respectful way. I feel in trying to understand the animal world, we have made many assumptions based on our own cultural biases, and that working to let go of these biases is the best way to learn from different species, and different cultures. Wolf and dog cultures are much more complex than we think, and my observations have shown me that many of the things we believe about dogs aren't true, at least not all the time. I believe in working with our dogs to create a harmonious relationship that is based not on human dominance but on mutual understanding and respect. The idea of dominion and conquering being the main driving factor in life, and the top-down hierarchical structure, is mainly a western human cultural idea and does not necessarily apply to wolves and dogs. I have experience that suggests that love, community, and cooperative organization are some of the driving factors for dogs, and that if we give our dogs the freedom to make some of their own decisions while also giving them a structure of respect and guidance, they will thrive and grow into the unique, vibrant individuals they are meant to be.

My Interests

I love art, videography and photography, philosophy, connecting with nature, and of course, animals

Name: Miriam
Male or Female: Female
Type of dog/s owned: Terrier mix, Lab/Aussie mix
Dog's owned: 2
I have trained dogs to: An intermediate level (10 commands or more)
Believe in using positive training methods?: Yes - but I will raise my voice if I have to
Have you ever shown any of your dogs?: No I do not show
Have you ever bred your dog?: no
Pet Insurance: No my dogs are not insured
Marital Status: Other


My Dogs!

Chante Washté
Chante Washté

28-03-2018 10:52 PM

26-03-2017 01:54 PM

Show All Albums

© Copyright 2016, Dogsey   Contact Us - Dogsey - Top Contact us | Archive | Privacy | Terms of use | Top