Our sister sites
Our sister sites
bellaa
New Member!
Female 

25-10-2016, 06:42 AM

Law related to dog attacks ??

Hello all,
I am a dog lover, and I have 3 pets at home. I love them, and love spending time with them. I am also a social worker. Recently I heard about a case, where a kid was attacked by a dog, and the parents of the kid claimed compensation from the dog owner. This is the first time that I am hearing about something like this. I never knew about such law , where compensation could be claimed for dog attacks. I was just doing more research on this, and found this blog, http://www.monteithbaker.com/practic...y/dog-attacks/, which talks about the law that says that that the dog owner can be held liable for attack by it’s dogs. It is said that, if a dog bites or attacks a person, or another dog, the owner of the offending dog can be held liable for the damages resulting from the attack or bite. This is new information for me, so I thought of sharing here. Do you guys think about this law ??
Besoeker
Dogsey Veteran
Male 

25-10-2016, 07:00 AM
I think owners/keepers must be held accountable.
I'm from UK so I suppose we have some different laws.
The Dangerous Dogs Act forbids certain breeds
Trouble
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Diamond Supporter 

25-10-2016, 08:41 AM
Of course the owner should be held accountable. It's the owners job to ensure their animal is safe in all situations, both for the animals sake and everyone else's.
Gnasher
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

25-10-2016, 09:24 AM
Absolutely! If my dog - whether accidentally or not - caused a third party injury, whether that third party be a human or an animal, or even someone else's property - I as the owner of the dog am entirely responsible for the dog and therefore am liable for any damage or injury he caused.

To me, this is just commonsense - and common decency.
CaroleC
Dogsey Senior
Female 

25-10-2016, 10:09 AM