Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Welshybird82
New Member!
Female 

07-05-2013, 03:12 PM

Poorly pooch

Hello, I am new to dogsy and came across this forum whilst looking for advice. My 10 year old lab cross has just had major abdominal surgery last week as my vet found a lump in his stomach, we expected the news to be cancer but on opening him up the vet found nothing. He seemed the thing the lump was fluid. Previous to this my dog had been straining an pooping a lot an we were told it was his hips as he is an old man. Now a week after surgery my dog is passing some pretty foul looking poop all orange and mucusy, the vet thinks it MAY be collitis but isn't sure. Anyone ever had anything similar? Could do with support
Meg
Supervisor
Female  Diamond Supporter 

07-05-2013, 05:55 PM
Hello Alison , welcome.
. Now a week after surgery my dog is passing some pretty foul looking poop all orange and mucusy, the vet thinks it MAY be collitis but isn't sure
That doesn't sound very nice. How is the wound and your dogs health generally. Does he seem ok eating, drinking peeing normally, not panting or stressed in any way. What are you feeding him on.
Bitkin
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

07-05-2013, 06:23 PM
Hello and welcome - what a horrible episode you are having with your elderly boy, and your vet does seem to be floundering a little doesn't he.

I have no advice as have had no experience of this, but I really hope that you get some answers soon and good luck.
susannah92
Dogsey Senior
Female 

07-05-2013, 08:39 PM
So sorry to hear that your poor boy is having these problems and I can understand how worried you must be about him. I do not have any advice to offer but I hope your vet will be able to give you more guidance and that you will find a way forward.
Hugs to you and your boy.
Welshybird82
New Member!
Female 

07-05-2013, 08:39 PM