Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
maxine
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-12-2010, 08:31 PM

Clicker training

I have been doing some clicker training with my foster girlie and I'm enjoying it even more than her. I have got some books with loads of ideas for things to do and tricks, but would be grateful for any advice/ideas as I am a novice at this. I have ordered a target stick. So far in 3 short sessions she has mastered:

1.the idea
2. sit
3. down

Many thanks
Ramble
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-12-2010, 08:33 PM
Originally Posted by maxine View Post
I have been doing some clicker training with my foster girlie and I'm enjoying it even more than her. I have got some books with loads of ideas for things to do and tricks, but would be grateful for any advice/ideas as I am a novice at this. I have ordered a target stick. So far in 3 short sessions she has mastered:

1.the idea
2. sit
3. down

Thanks
Spin is a good first thing to do, lure her with food so she turns her head...click...gradually increase how far she goes til she is spinning round, don't introduce the word command until she is doing it consistently well.
maxine
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-12-2010, 08:35 PM
Originally Posted by Ramble View Post
Spin is a good first thing to do, lure her with food so she turns her head...click...gradually increase how far she goes til she is spinning round, don't introduce the word command until she is doing it consistently well.

Good idea, she'll love that!
Ramble
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-12-2010, 08:38 PM
Originally Posted by maxine View Post
Good idea, she'll love that!
You will too...I did! It was one of my first clicker trained things...once she has nailed it one way, get her going the other way too
maxine
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-12-2010, 08:41 PM
You will too...I did! It was one of my first clicker trained things...once she has nailed it one way, get her going the other way too