Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Patch
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-09-2006, 03:17 PM

Chuffed to bits !!!

As some of you know I am an agility instructor. I take great pride in seeing my students and their dogs evolve in to great partnerships as they learn, and seeing them do well if they decide to take up competing [ thats a bonus, and certainly not the sole aim of people doing agility afaic :smt002 ]

Anyway, a few of my students are away competing this weekend and I got a call from one of them to tell me how she has been doing with her two Beardies - I demand updates when any of my students are at shows I`m not at myself

Her youngest Beardie got a 5th in Starters Jumping, her best placing so far and fantastic considering she only got her first clear a couple of months ago and has had some sporadic low end placings since then as she is still maturing to the feel of the Agility competition `arena`.

What I`m so excited about though, is her other Beardie, [ mother of the youngster ], winning out of Starters in the same class :smt041 :smt041

What makes it so special is that their early training elsewhere led to nothing but poorly learned habits as there are no real trainers there and people are pretty much left to their own devices :smt009 so when they started coming to me [ her OH as well, same problems, he won out of Starters mid season as well yaaaaay ! ], we really had to undo years of what they had been doing and retrain basically from scratch.

Through this season she has been getting good steady placings and earned her Agility Warrant, but that First Place has been elusive, so close but not quite getting there, having many consistant top three placings at their last few shows.

Her Beardie is now 7 years old and up against younger dogs which never had the training hiccups like this handler and dog had to overcome, but at last all the careful work has paid off in terrific style.