Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Ray
Dogsey Senior
Male 

01-07-2006, 11:33 PM

What age for agility?

I understand that dogs are ready for agility training at 12 months. However, I feel that my Belgie, which is coming up to 14 months, is still too excitable to take this kind of training seriously. I do think she would enjoy it though, because shes got so much energy. Anybody got any thoughts on the right age for training a belgie for agility? (Although I have done obedience training quite successfully in the past, I have no experience of agility)
Shadowboxer
Fondly Remembered
Female  Diamond Supporter 

02-07-2006, 10:17 AM
Not sure I can help Ray. I believe the minumum age for comepetive agility in the UK is 18 months. I started training mine from a very young age (3-4 months) with easy, low impact, equipment. Maybe you would be best to contact an agility club who would have good people to evaluate you, your dog and her level of competence & her prospects.

I tend to the view that agility must be fun and not taken too seriously, by dog or handler - but we just do it for fun, not in competition. I would rather have an 'up' dog than a plodder

There are several agility people here who will be able and willing to help once they spot your post
colliemad
Dogsey Senior
Female 

02-07-2006, 10:25 AM