Our sister sites
Our sister sites
AiredaleKate
Dogsey Senior
Female 

15-07-2008, 02:29 PM

Witholding places?

Hi,

I've just been looking on Fossedata at the Airedale results from East of England today (my pup's brother got Best Puppy in breed, yay!).

Anyhow, I noticed in both the junior dog and junior bitch classes, places were witheld.

In Junior Dog, 5 dogs were entered, places given for 2nd, 3rd & reserve.

In Junior Bitch 10 were entered, 5 absent, 1st, 2nd, Res & VHC awarded.

Presuming the Fossedata info is correct, why would this be done? I am a newbie and still trying to learn all the rules and regs!
KateM
Dogsey Senior
Female 

15-07-2008, 02:50 PM
It could be that the places are withheld but it maybe a printer error due to an error on the slips returned to the secretary, particularly in the junior bitch class.

a judge could withhold the first place and then give out the rest of the places, in fact they could withhold first and second and give out the rest, but if they withhold 3rd place they then cannot place the others in the class - ie they wouldnt' be able to place res or vhc.

So, whislt the Jnr dog class might be right, i dont think the bitch class will be.

hope that makes sense.
random
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

15-07-2008, 03:04 PM
Originally Posted by KateM View Post
It could be that the places are withheld but it maybe a printer error due to an error on the slips returned to the secretary, particularly in the junior bitch class.

a judge could withhold the first place and then give out the rest of the places, in fact they could withhold first and second and give out the rest, but if they withhold 3rd place they then cannot place the others in the class - ie they wouldnt' be able to place res or vhc.

So, whislt the Jnr dog class might be right, i dont think the bitch class will be.

hope that makes sense.