Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Natasha
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-07-2005, 01:49 PM

Beginning training

I am currently starting to train my Labrador Oscar with a dummy. He will never been used for hunting or working this is purely for fun for the both of us. And will also teach him new things and give him the stimulation labs love.
So I started training yesterday, and to begin with I am hoping to teach him to retrieve the dummy correctly. Normally I would just use sticks or a ball for him to play with, and he would chase after them but he was not told to sit by my side and wait until I gave the command to retrieve. So therefore I have bought a dummy to keep play time and training separate and this way he will learn the difference between the two. Yesterday I took him out with the dummy for the first time to get him started, as he has never been told to sit before by my side before, I held his collar so he would not run after the dummy when I threw it, he got up quite a few times to run after but by the end of the section he has learnt not to get up until I said 'go get' and pointed my arm to the dummy, which I thought was a good sign, and also he picked the dummy and brought it back to me a few times but not all the time, but this can be worked on.
I am hoping that other people will be able to give me advice as I go along training him, and I will update this section to let you know how he is getting on with pics and videos, which people can then see where we are going wrong and hopefully steer me in the right direction. So kind of like a dairy of Oscars progress, where hopefully some of you will give me some advice on But I also thought it would be a good thread as even if you don’t have a gundog, this type of training can be learnt by any dog, so even if your trying to get your dog to retrieve a ball etc feel free to join in and offer advice.
BorderCollieLvr
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-07-2005, 02:28 PM