Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
lozzibear
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-01-2010, 12:06 AM

Before starting agility...

im going to try jake out with agility, once he is old enough. he isnt one till the 26th of march, so it wont be till after that. but im wanting to work on any commands that will help us, when we get to do the agility. i think jake will love it, and i really think he will excel at it. i have never done agility before, so it will be a learning experience for the both of us.

so what commands will i need for it that i can teach him/work on just now?

thanks
rune
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-01-2010, 09:00 AM
A solid 'wait' and a good recall.

rune
Hali
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-01-2010, 09:08 AM
Well I haven't been doing agility that long, and we only do it for fun, so others will have better advice. But I'd say to work on :

Jake knowing 'heel' and 'side' (or whatever words you want to use for him to walk on your left hand side and your right hand side) so that he is used to working on both sides of you.

Wait - i.e. stay where he is but be ready to go when you say

left and right (so that jake turns and goes to his left or right).

You can also form 'gates' for him to walk through with pairs of markers (e.g. cones) so that he gets used to following your direction instructions.

To be honest, I would definitely make sure he understands heel, side and wait before trying the others.
Ramble
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-01-2010, 10:10 AM
All the stuff Rune and Hali have said.
I would say a good recall is top of the list, especially a good recall around other dogs. It's not that you can't do it without..but he would need to be on a longline which is trickier really...and won't eb able to do the rest of it off the lonline until his recall is solid. A dog distracted dog in an agility session can be a nightmare for the handler and for the other people in the class.
A solid wait is vital. We thought Cosmo's was okay...then we went to agility...