View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Stef Arron
New Member!
Female 

22-04-2013, 10:52 AM

Moving my Beardie to raw diet - help please!

I have finally made the decision to move my beardie onto a raw diet.
I have started by mixing half and half tripe with his normal complete dry food. (Royal Canin).
So far so good as he seems to like the tripe.
My main concern is the amount to feed him - he weighs around 24kgs.
I also like to give him 2 meals a day.
Any advice, particularly beardie-specific would be gratefully received.
(PS I am new to Dogsey!)
SneaksyWhippet
Dogsey Senior
Female 

22-04-2013, 03:49 PM
I wouldn't worry too much about mixing old and new gradually when switching to raw, at least not in the same meal. Perhaps one morning meal of complete and evening meal of raw while you are getting used to it?

The general advice is 2-3% of ideal body weight per day, which is fine to split over two meals. That's 480 - 720 grams per day for your dog. Make sure you include meat, bone and offal as well as the tripe you are already introducing. It can help to start with one protein type (e.g. chicken) and introduce others one at a time (lamb, beef, turkey, pheasant, rabbit, venison, duck etc). Although saying that, mine had a mixture from day one and were fine. Different meats over different meals, I mean, not mixed into the same meal.

Generally it's best to start with a good idea of how much you are feeding; monitor how he looks and feels and if he's putting on weight, decrease his food a bit. If he's losing weight then increase it a bit. It's not an exact science but you'll soon hit the happy medium that keeps his weigth right with his level of exercise and metabolism. All dogs are different
Rosebud77
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

05-06-2013, 04:55 AM