Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
SLB
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-11-2010, 10:46 AM

Time outs?

What does everyone feel about giving dogs time outs?
sarah1983
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-11-2010, 10:51 AM
I think they're extremely effective used properly and I have absolutely no problems using them from time to time.
TomtheLurcher
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-11-2010, 10:53 AM
I am no expert and use a lot of common sense in my approach with my doggies, not sure what the research says either.

Would dogs understand this and if so wouldnt it be seen as a negative thing as it is taking something away rather than rewarding good behaviour ? be interested in peoples thoughts, good thread SLB !
Kicks
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-11-2010, 11:06 AM
Used correctly they can be really helpful.

The only time we use them at the moment is when Indy is barking like a nutter at agility. It's a problem we're working on which is improving but if I feel myself getting frustrated then I put her back in the car for a while - so more a time out for me than for her.

When I was training Felix for obedience we used them effectively with him. Felix can be an absolute **** when he's training and though he knows what to do he will start doing tricks which he feels are more interesting. He would then get a time out while I trained with Indy for five minutes. When I then switched back he was much more focussed on me and what he was supposed to be doing. It helped to break the cycle.

I think you have to be careful with them though and not use them in a negative way. If I gave Oliver a time out he would go to pieces thinking he's done something wrong. Oliver can never know he's done something wrong! Or funny, he hates it if someone laughs at him. Little oddball!
SLB
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-11-2010, 11:07 AM
Originally Posted by TomtheLurcher View Post
I am no expert and use a lot of common sense in my approach with my doggies, not sure what the research says either.