Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
runningrabbit
Dogsey Junior
Female 

27-11-2011, 01:29 PM

Search square questions

As I got such a helpful response last time, I'm back…

Sorry if some of these questions are naive, but I'm just getting started.

With search squares, I'm following the method where you first plant the articles at the base of the poles, so the dog learns to check out each pole first. Once the dog knows that, you move the articles inwards.

I have a few questions though:

Q1 - I understand that all kinds of things can be WT articles. What would be suitable articles, for someone just starting out and doing their first search squares, someone who is preparing for the first stakes? Indoors, I am practising pick-ups on all kinds of items, tiny things and metal things, and that is going well, but I have been sticking to bigger, easier things in the field for now.

However the 15 yard Intro stake search square seems pretty small. And the articles I'm using outdoors at the moment are similar to those I'm using at the end of a track - so they are quite big. (Scraps of leather, small carpet sample squares etc.) So it is all pretty easy for my dog, who is finding the articles at the base of the posts really fast.

Should I make the articles smaller? I don't want to move them away from the posts until I'm sure that the dog has learnt to check out the posts first of all. Or perhaps it is good that the dog finds them so fast, to keep motivation high at this stage?

Q2 - When I am starting out this search square training, should I be paying any attention to wind direction and if so, what and why?