Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Moobli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-10-2010, 08:31 PM

Working Trials tracking vs Schutzhund tracking

What are the main differences between the two please.
Dobermann
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-10-2010, 08:36 PM
Theres more in Working Trials if you have the time as far as I'm aware but I'm no expert on either. If you go on the kennel club website you can find out all the different levels and whats expected of them at each class, in working trials. Sch has obedience, man-work and tracking but thats it (I think)
Heres the page that has all the WT links.
http://www.thekennelclub.org.uk/workingtrials
This site/page has a comparison of the two and a little info.
http://www.aritaur.co.uk/working.htm

Hopefully someone else will reply with a bit experience
wildmoor
Almost a Veteran
Female 

29-10-2010, 08:45 PM
the tracking phase in Schutzhund is done on grass or dirt, dependent on which level will depend on age, length of track, as there are 3 levels of Schutzhund plus the FH and FH2, is focus is on the footsteps, no air bourne scenting, scoring is done on prescision.

Not sure about WT
rune
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-10-2010, 09:03 PM
WT you follow someone elses scent Schutzhund is a known pattern and you yourself lay at the first level. Not sure about the other levels but WT seems more difficult as the pattern can be anything the judge dreams up within the parameters and the ground is whatever field you happen to end up with.

rune
Tarimoor
Dogsey Senior
Female 

29-10-2010, 11:49 PM
Posting from a WT perspective, if you approach the start post, the track can come back towards you at an angle, and the angles can be quite oblique. The manner in which they are laid are discretionary, some scuff quite heavily, others walk more naturally.

I know working trials people with dogs that can track over concrete, amongst distractions.

Will be interesting to see what the Schutzhund version is like in comparison.
Moobli