Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Alison2006
Dogsey Senior
Female 

31-12-2007, 01:38 PM

Tile Paints

I was thinking of having a go at painting my old kitchen wall tiles over the next few weeks.

As i've never done this before I was wondering whether anyone has actually used the paints and what they are like? Does it flake off / chip after a short time? I was thinking of using one of the paints that you can just paint on and not have to treat the tiles beforehand?

Any tips / experiences from people who have used them would be appreciated.

Thanks

Alison
Steve
Dogsey Veteran
Male 

31-12-2007, 05:54 PM
Dont do it!:smt103

No matter what method you use to apply the paint-it will always look like paint.It chips fairly easy and then flakes off when water gets inbetween.Better to retile cos you'll never achieve the same finish with paint.You can tile straight over old tiles no problem which saves on the dirty,chipping off stage.Just be careful where the tiles end cos of the additional thickness on edges.

<whispers> I'll let you into a secret...buy your tiles from a small independent store cos you can barter the price.Most ceramic tiles have a mark up of 300-400% on them...but i havent told you that...
wufflehoond
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

31-12-2007, 06:14 PM
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Dont do it!:smt103

No matter what method you use to apply the paint-it will always look like paint.It chips fairly easy and then flakes off when water gets inbetween.Better to retile cos you'll never achieve the same finish with paint.You can tile straight over old tiles no problem which saves on the dirty,chipping off stage.Just be careful where the tiles end cos of the additional thickness on edges.

<whispers> I'll let you into a secret...buy your tiles from a small independent store cos you can barter the price.Most ceramic tiles have a mark up of 300-400% on them...but i havent told you that...