Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
mcurrieri
New Member!
Male 

17-08-2011, 06:36 AM

New to Dogsey (herding advice )

Hello, I'm new to Dogsey. Next week a 1 yr old white German Sheppard will come live on my farm where I raise alpacas. I would like to train him to herd the alpacas. Anyone have experience with training GSD to herd?
smokeybear
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-08-2011, 06:37 AM
HI

GSD do not really "herd" like BCs etc.................

If you contact some GSD clubs you may find those who are into HGH, failing that you might find help with the Aussie clubs (Australian Shepherd Dog)
Moobli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-08-2011, 07:35 AM
Welcome to Dogsey. I also have GSDs (and BCs) and live on a hill farm in Scotland. As well as sheep, cows and ponies, we also have a handful of alpaca. I have always trained my GSDs to ignore our livestock - as we have the BCs for the job of herding. As has already been said, and as you are probably aware, GSDs don't herd in the same way as BCs do, but there are herding clinics held in the US that cater for all breeds, so perhaps searching out one of those could be a good start?

http://www.awsaclub.com/howtodo/herding.htm

http://www.k9station.com/stockdog.htm
mcurrieri
New Member!
Male 

18-08-2011, 06:51 AM
Thanks for your reply. I will be taking delivery of GSD this weekend. He has not been well cared for and pretty much been left alone for long periods of time. I'm told he has 'behavior problems'. I didn't ask what figuring I could work with him and make him a proud very cared for animal.

As to using him for herding, maybe just to give him a job to do once in a while. I don't expect he will be able to cut an alpaca and deliver it to me.
ClaireandDaisy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

18-08-2011, 07:44 AM