Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
my_boy_sonny
Dogsey Senior
Female 

30-04-2004, 09:43 PM

I could have cried.....

it was sonnys second week at obedience class and it was horrible - I am new to this and please tell me if I am getting worked up over nothing. Sonny pulls and isn't very obedient on his lead ( he is still a pup and wants to just play all the time esp. with other dogs) he wouldn't stay on my left side and kept trying to pull away the women who runs the class grabbed him and dragged him round the room. Her view was that he must do what I tell him and I had to be firm - I can understand that but she just kept dragging him and pulling him and another thing they activly promote check chains which I had been told where dangerous - sonny has a half check. Maybe this is how these things work but I just wanted to cuddle sonny and take him home - however I know he needs trained and this is supposed to be one of the best classes.

Sorry this has gone on I know that most of you are more experienced than me and may be able to put my mind at ease

thanks Sam xx
eRaze
Administrator
Male 

30-04-2004, 09:56 PM
Hi Sam

I'm not really experienced either Sam so know how you feel - especially if someone else is being 'rough' with 'your' dog.

I think Boxers are naturally very plaful, when we went to puppy classes there was one there and he was full of beans and as you said, just wanted (typically of a Boxer) to play, play, play.

Maybe you could email a Boxer club and ask them what they find is the best way to train a boxer? As I think Sonny's behaviour is typical of a Boxer and thats one of innocent Play

I think it's important in all bull breeds however to always maintain you are the Alpha and make sure he knows it. The way I am with Rocky is I will be fair and let him play but when I really need him to not, or to calmed down I let him know - I raise my voice. It is a must that he knows you are the alpha.
my_boy_sonny
Dogsey Senior
Female