Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
2manydogs
Dogsey Junior
Female 

01-06-2011, 11:38 AM

Isn't it about time ...?

I have been working in Behaviour & Training for over 20 years now.
I would describe my approach/techniques as PR towards both dog and owner.
I choose not to apply standard punishment/aversive/complusive techniques ... I prefer my techniques - they work well imho.

Now I am well aware that there are many differing techniques - some I applaud, some I dislike and a minority I would consider deeply unkind.

However, I am increasingly disappointed and ashamed at the hostility and lack of respect towards fellow professionals that there is in this line of work .......

Why is our profession so adversarial? What has happened to professional respect & discretion ... we all Know how some owners can misinterpret advice, be selective in what they hear & apply ... why are WE (used as collective WE) so ready to slam anothers work without knowing more?

I am asking the question .. how can we be effective Professionals with our clients when so many are prepared to insult, be hyper-critical and rude to other trainers//behaviourists?

Isn't it about time WE came together as a respectful profession to support / teach & learn from each other ... maybe, just maybe it might help owners hugely if they were dealing with a Community who were generous in attitude and manner and more open hearted in their approach to canine work ....
Why is our Profession so hell bent on attackimg each other?
krlyr
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

01-06-2011, 11:50 AM
Rude people can become behaviourists/trainers the same as polite people, you'll meet rude people in every profession. I think it's impossible to expect everyone to get along, all you can do is ignore the rude people and continue to be polite and friendly - clients will soon begin to respect the fact that you don't get involved.
2manydogs
Dogsey Junior
Female 

01-06-2011, 12:00 PM