Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
TortuousAugur
New Member!
Male 

22-02-2018, 09:15 PM

Breaking vehicle anxiety of adult dog

I have a doberman that I'm wanting to break of his vehicle anxiety. I'm not sure what caused it but he's always been scared of new things (like when he was a puppy, he would resist going up stairs and pee when I would finally get him to use them). His anxiety symptoms include whining, pacing (as much as he can in the small area) and after a while, total loss of bowel control and diarrhea. I've made a trip from central NC to North TX with a pillow case over his head (recommended by vet) but this is when I discovered the last two symptoms and haven't tried anything over 45 minutes after that mess. If possible, I'm wanting to bring him with me while I work as a truck driver but obviously this cannot happen with his current anxiety problems. Is there any way to remedy this or is he a permanent house dog? My dog is a little over eight years old.
Besoeker
Dogsey Veteran
Male 

22-02-2018, 09:33 PM
Originally Posted by TortuousAugur View Post
I have a doberman that I'm wanting to break of his vehicle anxiety. I'm not sure what caused it but he's always been scared of new things (like when he was a puppy, he would resist going up stairs and pee when I would finally get him to use them). His anxiety symptoms include whining, pacing (as much as he can in the small area) and after a while, total loss of bowel control and diarrhea. I've made a trip from central NC to North TX with a pillow case over his head (recommended by vet) but this is when I discovered the last two symptoms and haven't tried anything over 45 minutes after that mess. If possible, I'm wanting to bring him with me while I work as a truck driver but obviously this cannot happen with his current anxiety problems. Is there any way to remedy this or is he a permanent house dog? My dog is a little over eight years old.
How long have you had your dog?