View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
loupoppins
Dogsey Senior
Female 

19-01-2013, 08:02 PM

Advice for a total beginner and the class clown!!

OK...so I have just started puppy classes at our local agility club with Flynn. We have done 3 classes so far.
It is obviously just all the basics at this point such as stay, wait, recall, sen aways etc...
Initially I had been training using treats as rewards. The instructor suggested also trying to use a toy so I got a lovely tuggy toy and tried to build Flynn's enthusiasm for it. He does like it, and will play a bit with me with it, but no matter how I try he is not really that enthusiastic. I've tried various toys with the same result. He is slightly more motivated by squeaky toys, but they may not work in a class situation?
Anyway, today was a disaster!!he just would not seem to focus on me at all. Admittedly the snow on the ground was an added distraction, but he was just so totally focused on trying to play with the other dogs. He had NO interest in his toy and only minimal motivation to work for treats (chopped cooked chicken in little pieces) recalls were hopeless as he would just wander off to play with his best pal Alfie!!

so ...I suppose I have a couple of questions...firstly can anyone talk to me more about the use of treats/toys as rewards/motivators for agility training ? What should I use and how should I use it? Anyone recommend me a toy that I can get Flynn really interested in?? Or do some people use mostly treats?

and secondly but I suppose really related - how can I improve his focus on me at class? He can do all the stuff at home, but in class nothing I can offer is as tempting as playing with his pals!! We do pratice training when out and about - sit, down, watch etc...but is there anything else I can do to increase his focus on me???

TIA - I am feeling a bit of a class failure today LOL