Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
pod
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-08-2006, 08:41 PM

Blackberry jam dilema

I know I haven't been paying proper attention, I think I may have missed the setting point!

I've had my blackberry & apple jam bubbling away this evening for well over an hour and it's still not setting. I've been testing it regularly, honest.

I'm not very good with weights and measures - large pot of blackberries with a small proportion of apple and flung in about the same weight in sugar (normal granulated) along with a bit of water and the juice of a lemon. Should I carry on simmering or what...help
Shadowboxer
Fondly Remembered
Female  Diamond Supporter 

22-08-2006, 11:16 PM
Try adding more lemon juice and re-boil.

If jam is not setting is is due to either a lack of pectin & acid, or insufficient evaporation.

If that doesn't work take it off the heat & get some commercial pectin tomorrow & try re-boiling it.

If it is overcooked (tastes of caramel) it cannot be re-boiled
pod
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-08-2006, 08:17 AM
Originally Posted by Shadowboxer
Try adding more lemon juice and re-boil.

If jam is not setting is is due to either a lack of pectin & acid, or insufficient evaporation.

If that doesn't work take it off the heat & get some commercial pectin tomorrow & try re-boiling it.

If it is overcooked (tastes of caramel) it cannot be re-boiled
Thanks SB, I'll try that. I don't think I've boiled so much that it's caramelising but it could be insufficient evaporation.
lillybet
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-08-2006, 10:56 AM
you need more sugar
Shadowboxer
Fondly Remembered
Female  Diamond Supporter 

23-08-2006, 11:02 AM
A tip - when it has reached seting point take it off the heat & add a little alcohol to it (brandy, whisky, gin, vodka, whatever you like). This will help prevent mould - and tastes rather good
lillybet
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-08-2006, 11:04 AM
Originally Posted by Shadowboxer