View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
_Charlotte_
Dogsey Junior
Female 

16-07-2010, 05:13 PM

Best way to start in Agility and Obedience?

Hello, I'm a newbie to training and wondered which is the best way to start training in agility and obedience for a border collie pup?
I won't have him until 20th August he will be 7 weeks, so I have ages to learn and get peoples opinions and advice.
Thanks.
TBBS
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

16-07-2010, 06:25 PM
I would find a good club in your area, go along to watch a class and make sure you are happy with their training methods. For agility look on www.agilitynet.com clubs A-Z although you won't be able to do any training on equipment until your pup is a year old most clubs have a long waiting list and some clubs do puppy agility, doing exercises with agility in mind. If you do do obedience and want to do agility make sure your pup doesn't do everything on your left, do some heelwork on your right, just give it a different command.
talassie
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

16-07-2010, 07:25 PM
Joanna Hill's Motivation dvd is excellent and full of information on puppy training. But it is a bit expensive.
Jfk
Dogsey Junior
Female 

17-07-2010, 12:58 AM