Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
dorris
New Member!
Female 

07-01-2013, 10:04 AM

Dog food

high i am new to this so bare with me want to know best dry food to feed my cocker spaniel saffron
Meg
Supervisor
Female  Diamond Supporter 

07-01-2013, 01:33 PM
Hi Crissie what are you feeding at the moment...
Azz
Administrator
Male 

07-01-2013, 02:23 PM
Also be sure to take a look at our guide on dog food:

Dog Food
dorris
New Member!
Female 

08-01-2013, 09:14 AM
hi i had her on bakers but changed as people told me no good so am trying mince morsleys
ATD
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

08-01-2013, 10:46 PM
what every you decide do it slowly over a period of time, to avoid upset tummy, avoid things with colours too. i use shepard choice for mine and its fab but used proplan, JWL in the past which were also good
ATD x
Roger Biduk
Dogsey Junior
Male 

09-01-2013, 03:35 AM
With due respect, the guide says the best food "normally comes down to personal choice". So not true.

The absolute best for the health of a carnivore (dog) or obligate carnivore (cat) is a balanced, enzyme-rich raw meat diet, not up for discussion.

Next is a wet, grain-free, low starch food containing only human-grade ingredients.
Wet is superior than kibble for the health of your pet. Wet has low or no starch with a moisture content of 75% - 80%.

Last is kibble, same criteria as wet food.

I'd like to comment on ATD's remarks, The foods he mentioned are very bad, low quality and very bad for the health of a dog/cat.

European pet foods are almost non-regulated and "Shepard's Choice" is an example. Ingredients listed are:
Cereals, Meat & Animal Derivatives (min 4% Beef), oils and fats. There's no way AAFCO would let this labeling pass in the U.S. Wouldn't let my dogs or anyone else's near this stuff.