Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
nickmcmechan
Almost a Veteran
Male 

28-08-2012, 05:26 AM

"Too high on protein".......?

I often see this in threads when some kibbles are being described but I'm never convinced.

What do you think?

PS, these might be of interest:

[link containing dog forum removed]

http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/choosi...-matter-basis/

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/8...?dopt=Abstract

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/1...?dopt=Abstract
Nippy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

28-08-2012, 08:55 AM
I am no expert but I had a Collie/Greyhound cross many years ago who was a nightmare. Over active wasn't in it, no matter what we did with her.
We were advised to feed her a food with a lower protein content.
We did and it did make a difference to activity level. Whether that was coincidence or not I don't know but she did calm down.
Trouble
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Diamond Supporter 

28-08-2012, 08:58 AM
I've always thought it a load of old tosh, mine were raised on 32% protein and never had a problem with any of them.
nickmcmechan
Almost a Veteran
Male 

28-08-2012, 09:15 AM
Originally Posted by Trouble View Post
I've always thought it a load of old tosh, mine were raised on 32% protein and never had a problem with any of them.
The removed link (sorry about that admin ) makes a good point about the quality of protein. In an extreme example leather is protein but it cannot be utilised through digestion. If you think of more realistic examples of this, then the quality of protein becomes important.

For example 50% of poor quality protein where only 25% can be utilised leads to 12.5 of usable content and has a detrimental inpact of body function, such as kidneys.

Whereas a high quality protein sources, e.g. via raw feeding, may give 75% of usable protein, i.e. 37.5g and have little impact on body function.

However, both manufacturers only have to legally state 50g of crude protein (so don't buy cheap dog food!)