Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
BetsyJane
New Member!
Female 

10-04-2013, 05:05 PM

I need advice on puppy adoption!

Okay I have never used a forum before, so please be kind!

1) My housemate adopted a German Shepherd/Lab/Boxer mix, Georgia, a few weeks ago. She is about 13 weeks old, so she's very much a puppy, and a lot of fun! We've had a great time training her (so far), and she's picked up on sleep schedules, crate training, and where potty is acceptable very quickly. She's pretty hyper and mouthy right now. Housemate is a great dog owner, even though it's his first go at it.

2) A friend of mine has a litter of Newfoundland/German Shepherd puppies that are just opening their eyes. The pregnancy was accidental, so they're not looking to make any money beyond covering the first shots. They just want the puppies to go to good homes and any that are not adopted by (responsible) friends or family will be going to The Humane Society. I have wanted a Newfoundland or Newfoundland mix for ages, and I have a wonderful job that would allow me to have a dog at work with me during the day. I would love to adopt one of these puppies (when they're old enough to leave the mother, of course), but am not sure that the timing is right with a puppy that is slightly older already at the house.

I know raising puppies together has the possibility of being an enormous pain, so I'm trying to consider all the pros and cons very carefully. Georgia is at home all day, whereas my own dog would be at work with me from morning to evening, with an afternoon jog and play/pee/walk breaks somewhere in the middle. Is the age gap too small or large for this to potentially work? Is it just a really terrible idea? I don't want to negatively influence the life of Georgia or a new puppy OR my housemate in any way, though he is strongly encouraging me to get a puppy as well (I don't know how much he's read up on the potential dangers of the situation, though ).