Our sister sites
Our sister sites
ArcDM
New Member!
Male 

27-01-2017, 01:58 PM

Taking care of a dog in Ecuador

Hi guys!

I have never used this site before, but I feel like this is the best place to get help with the issues I am having.

My situation is that I have been living in Ecuador for about 7 months, working for a christian outdoor organization as a backpacking guide.
We have a big property (300 acres) and are situated in a village of about 4200 people.
I live 5 minutes away from the property, in a two story house - I stay in the ground level (but I am pretty much only sleeping there), my Ecuadorian host family in the 1 level (I spend my all my other time with them, like eating and chilling, etc.).
Recently I got the idea of adopting a dog, which I wanted to train to become a friend who accompanies me in the mountains, but after a lot of research, some money already spend on things that you should have before you get a dog and visiting a few dog shelters I found out that in Ecuador, you can't take dogs into the Natural Parks, where I will go for a lot of my backpacking trips, and therefore decided it wouldn't be responsible for me to get a dog when at many times throughout the year I won't be around for 2-5 days at a time.
Now, my host family has a dog (used to have three when I came, but one probably died and the other probably got stolen), a small 2-3 year old (I guess) cairn terrier mix, who I started to spend time with, train her, take her for walks and even though I never liked small dogs, I think I have "fallen" for her (if you know what I mean .

Before I come to my questions, I feel I need also to explain how the dog situation is in Ecuador.
Dogs don't live in the house, they live in the yard, often without any fencing, and are never allowed to be inside.