Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
fengzeng
New Member!
Male 

04-08-2014, 06:35 AM

I am gonna buy a dog, but which?

I am gonna buy a dog. Personally I prefer Shiba Inu because it's cute and looks good. But I heard a lot of people say that Shiba is not easy to train. My choices are Siberian Husky, Akita Inu, which looks like Shiba (I know there are some other looks for Akita, but I like the one which looks like Shiba). Someone suggests me Poodle or Bulldog, but they are not my types, cause I don't like small dogs.
Fourlegz
Almost a Veteran
Female 

04-08-2014, 07:17 AM
Hi Fengzeng,
Welcome to Dogsey.

Your choice of dogs are ones which appeal to me very much - in fact my last GSD cross had a very definite look if shiba inu about her.
Having said that, I'm far from an expert on any breed but what I do know is that the more research you do into any breed of dog you are thinking of getting, the better for you AND the dog.
The breeds you mention are quite wilful and this might make them difficult yo train.
Have you owned a dog before and are you home all day to be with it? These are a couple of points that spring to mind.

The dogs we find the most attractive sadly do not always make us the best pet.
fengzeng
New Member!
Male 

04-08-2014, 08:00 AM
I am not always at home and play with my dog. I had Golden Retriever before and he was so loyal but he passed away ten years ago. I don't want another GR for not reminding the sadness from my previous one. I have a flexible working schedule. I prefer a dog that will grow up with up (by that I mean it will grow bigger not like toy poodle). As for Shiba, I really like it but I don't want to spend too much time on training. If I can find a dog that mixes with shiba-like and easily trained, I will be happy.
BlueJay
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

04-08-2014, 09:34 AM
ALL dogs require a lot of training, and there is more to dogs than just looks.