Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Lisa_jt79
New Member!
Female 

10-05-2014, 05:31 PM

Help with lowering ph in urine!!

Hi,
I'm new to this but thought I would give it a go!!
My sbt has been diagnosed with urinary incontinence and has a ph level of 9 in her urine which is causing struvite crystals, the vet has advised I need to get Daisy to drink more if I can but has also suggested that I can try anything that will help bring down the ph level in her urine, only problem is that I'm not sure what I can give her that's natural and dogs can have, does anyone have any experience with this or can offer any advice?!
Dobermonkey
Almost a Veteran
Female 

10-05-2014, 06:28 PM
What do you feed her?
Lisa_jt79
New Member!
Female 

10-05-2014, 06:42 PM
She's on Burns complete, only food I've tried her on that doesn't upset her stomach
Trouble
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Diamond Supporter 

11-05-2014, 07:26 AM
When I had this problem with Rio the vet would usually prescribe a special diet but as she was raw fed that was never an option so he gave me Methidione (not sure about the spelling)tablets which worked well and quickly tbh I think they are vitamin b based as the smell is very yeasty, Once the crystals cleared I supplemented her diet with cranberry extract tablets and vitamin b complex. Ask your vet about them as they worked well. I think they're available online but I'd still check with the vet first. As for getting her to drink more adding bovril or marmite to their water will usually make them drink more or make her current dried food moist by soaking it.

Edited to add the tablets were Methion/ Methotex cos I just found the empty bottle in the dogs cupboard.
Trouble
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Diamond Supporter 

11-05-2014, 07:33 AM
Methionine is an amino acid. Amino acids are the building blocks that our bodies use to make proteins. Methionine is found in meat, fish, and dairy products, and it plays an important role in many cell functions.