Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
doggiegurl
New Member!
Female 

05-02-2017, 11:27 PM

Why I won't ever show my dogs

I have been kidding myself for two years that one day I will take my pedigree dogs to a show.

I’ve finally realized that’s never going to happen. I wouldn’t care if they weren't placed or if they qualified for Crufts (yes, we have qualifiers in Netherlands!). I’ve lost faith in showing; I’m not impressed by the champions in my breeds. A title can’t make a good mother or a wonderful family pet.

If I decide to breed and someone remarks “but your dog hasn’t ever been shown”, I might just say - well what’s it to you? If I’m doing everything right (health testing, temperament checks, screening potential puppy buyers etc) and my dog hasn’t set foot in a show ring, WHY SHOULD YOU CARE?

I’m passionate about purebred dogs and devoted to my chosen breeds. That won’t change if I rescue a mongrel.
I promote responsible breeding and early desexing. That won’t change if I become a breeder.
I support the De Raad van Beheer op Kynologisch gebied in Nederland and their showing activities. That won’t change if I choose not to participate.

Success in the show ring does not automatically make for a well-rounded dog or a good owner. I’ll measure my success by the health and happiness of my dogs. At the end of the day, what do the judges know anyway?
Azz
Administrator
Male 

06-02-2017, 12:06 AM
Hi, Welcome

We have a fantastic article on breeding:

http://www.dogsey.com/showthread.php?t=12589

Early neutering is not considered a good thing by many people btw. Personally I would not castrate a male and would not neuter a female until at least two seasons or until fully matured (2 to 3 years in some breeds). Other people's opinions may differ..
doggiegurl
New Member!
Female 

06-02-2017, 12:19 AM