register for free
View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Inca
Dogsey Veteran
Inca is offline  
Location: sunny south
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 18,203
Female 
 
01-11-2006, 02:40 PM
not sure it works like that ....if the therostat is in a room with the rads not on it won't find a safe level to cut off ...it thinks the house is cold so keeps the boiler going hence using more gas |
Reply With Quote
MazY
Dogsey Veteran
MazY is offline  
Location: UK
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,602
Male 
 
01-11-2006, 02:41 PM
Originally Posted by Kanikula View Post
We have very high ceilings in our flat (built in 1800s)and dont have gas.
Having ceilings must help reduce the cost though? Think I might look into getting some!
Reply With Quote
Kanikula
Dogsey Veteran
Kanikula is offline  
Location: Cheshire, UK
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,559
Female 
 
01-11-2006, 02:42 PM
lol yes they come in very handy! especially when its raining!!
Reply With Quote
Inca
Dogsey Veteran
Inca is offline  
Location: sunny south
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 18,203
Female 
 
01-11-2006, 02:43 PM
Originally Posted by Kanikula View Post
lol yes they come in very handy! especially when its raining!!
haha you beat me to it ...ceilings are very handy
Reply With Quote
Inca
Dogsey Veteran
Inca is offline  
Location: sunny south
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 18,203
Female 
 
01-11-2006, 02:44 PM
you can tell us what watts those heaters use ? per hr
Reply With Quote
Kanikula
Dogsey Veteran
Kanikula is offline  
Location: Cheshire, UK
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,559
Female 
 
01-11-2006, 02:44 PM
Originally Posted by Inca View Post
haha you beat me to it ...ceilings are very handy
Great minds think allike hey!!
you can tell us what watts those heaters use ? per hr
hang on got that wrong - having a blonde moment!!
Reply With Quote
duboing
Dogsey Veteran
duboing is offline  
Location: Liverpool, UK
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,477
Female 
 
01-11-2006, 02:45 PM
Originally Posted by Inca View Post
it makes no difference fox the gas heats the water that flushes round whether it heads 4 or 8 rads its still the same gas ......plus the thermostat will not kick in if some rooms are cold...which means the more gas you use in theory
Ah but, the more radiators you have in use, the more quickly the water cools, so the more work the boiler has to do to keep it at a constant temperature. Basically your rooms get heated by heat transferring from the hot water to the surrounding air, so wherever a room gets warmer, more enrgy is being taken from the hot water, so boiler does more and you pay more.

So it would be cheaper to switch off some radiators in the loop. Also look into getting thermostatic controls for each of your radiators. These go in place of the normal tap, but close off when the radiator gets hotter than it needs to. Means you don't have to rely on a central thermostat, and can have different rooms at appropriate temperatures - nice and cosy in the sitting room, cooler in the kitchen and so on.
Reply With Quote
zero
Dogsey Veteran
zero is offline  
Location: UK
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,369
Female 
 
01-11-2006, 02:49 PM
Originally Posted by Inca View Post
not sure it works like that ....if the therostat is in a room with the rads not on it won't find a safe level to cut off ...it thinks the house is cold so keeps the boiler going hence using more gas |
Dunno maybe that's where the radiator thermostats come in?...They confuse me in themselves besides the point here though really seein as foxy doesn't have them

*confused*
Reply With Quote
Inca
Dogsey Veteran
Inca is offline  
Location: sunny south
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 18,203
Female 
 
01-11-2006, 02:50 PM
was just on phone to gas man ...he says its ok to shut off one or 2 in rooms not used but the thermo will not work properly if the temp in rooms are too high or low ( what ever that means )

he says for you boiler to work at its best effect allow the thermo to kick in when its too warm rather than close rads off

from Gary the corgi man ( who hasn't got any corgi's LOL )
Reply With Quote
Inca
Dogsey Veteran
Inca is offline  
Location: sunny south
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 18,203
Female 
 
01-11-2006, 02:50 PM
i don't have rad therms either just one on the wall in the hallway
Reply With Quote
Reply
Page 2 of 9 < 1 2 3 4 5 > Last »


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


© Copyright 2016, Dogsey   Contact Us - Dogsey - Top Contact us | Archive | Privacy | Terms of use | Top