Or Register for FREE!





Anistel






Dogsey Veteran
 
Dogs owned: Chihuahuas
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posts: 8,648
18-10-2005, 09:29 PM   #1

Computer help


Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award

Welcome to the Dogsey Forums!
Welcome to the LARGEST DOG FORUM in the world!!*

Welcome, you are seeing this message because you are viewing our dog owners forum as a guest. You are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Dog Lovers, on the biggest and best dog forum in the world!*

Doing so will unlock lots of features enabling you to participate on the site... and will also get rid of this message box and the advert on the left.

Click here to register for FREE!

*Dogsey hosts the largest English language dog-related forum in the world! By total number of posts.

royv's Avatar
Dogsey Senior
 
Dogs owned: Barney the Border Collie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 875
royv is Male
18-10-2005, 09:47 PM   #2

Re: Computer help


What happens if you put the original memory back in - does it boot OK ?



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


Dogsey Veteran
 
Dogs owned: Chihuahuas
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posts: 8,648
18-10-2005, 09:48 PM   #3

Re: Computer help


Nope, it doesn't boot at all, with any of the 3 memories we have



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


royv's Avatar
Dogsey Senior
 
Dogs owned: Barney the Border Collie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 875
royv is Male
18-10-2005, 09:59 PM   #4

Re: Computer help


In some systems, you need to go into the BIOS and make it 'see' the new memory, then SAVE the settings on exit.

Can you get into the BIOS ?



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


Dogsey Veteran
 
Dogs owned: Chihuahuas
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posts: 8,648
18-10-2005, 10:03 PM   #5

Re: Computer help


Yep, been inton bios and tried that!



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


royv's Avatar
Dogsey Senior
 
Dogs owned: Barney the Border Collie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 875
royv is Male
18-10-2005, 10:31 PM   #6

Re: Computer help


I would be inclined to try putting the same memory components back into the same slot/s it previously used.

There's also the possibility that the memory isn't seated properly - the memory should 'lock' into place. Also, check that none of the cables have been nudged out of position.

What make/model PC is it ?
What motherboard is it ?

Is the new memory 'the same' as as the old ?



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


Dogsey Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: xxxxx, UK
Posts: 18,962
19-10-2005, 10:45 AM   #7

Re: Computer help


Sorry to be doom and gloom but when the psu on ours went it took the 2 hard drives with it and we ended up replacing every piece of hardware in it! Worse case scenario of course.



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


Dogsey Veteran
 
Dogs owned: Chihuahuas
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posts: 8,648
19-10-2005, 11:04 AM   #8

Re: Computer help


We tried all that you suggested Roy.

In the end we have had to format the hard drive - hopefully this will have solved the problem



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award

Reply

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 




Copyright ©2004-2014, Dogsey.com