Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Bansh33
New Member!
Female 

24-02-2017, 12:20 AM

Anal Gland Issues...

Okay so first off, hello everyone. I'm new to this whole forum thing but my poor dog is in pain. Now before anything, my dog has gotten his anal glands expressed about 4 years ago. Since then, no problems. Last night he was fine, everything seemed normal and then today I woke up and he was refusing to walk or move. I already knew the storm that was about to hit me. So, I took him to the closest vet to me and got his anal glands expressed and they gave him a rabies shot too. They said everything was fine and that he was healthy and his anal glands were full but not infected. He was bouncing around like normal and super yappy. About an hour being home, he began sitting again and crying a bit. I called the vet and they said it's more than likely his rabies shot causing him soreness. I took their word and have been waiting patiently but Bear is now trying to lick his butt again. Regardless of what happens, I'm going to take him back tomorrow if he's not better. For the meantime, has this happened to anyone and what should I do exactly? They gave no medication because they didn't see or feel an infection. I just don't want my old man in pain.
Chris
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

24-02-2017, 08:15 AM
If you feel it's anal glands again, try warming a cloth and have him sit on it or hold it to the area. This can ease off the worst of the pain and sometimes aid in natural emptying.

My girl had a heck of a problem with them for about 18 months, but seemed to grow out of it as she matured (thankfully and touch wood) and the warm cloth did seem to help her.
Bansh33
New Member!
Female 

24-02-2017, 10:46 PM