Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
LHARTWICK
New Member!
Female 

27-07-2016, 03:24 PM

Newbie w/skin allergy questions please!

Newbie here - just joined today. My 10 yr old Chihuahua Rat Terrier mix has skin allergies. He does fine about Oct - April but once the weather warms up, his skin really flares up. Starts out as a little itching then eventually his whole body is taken over. I feed him Wellness Core Grain Free Wild Game formula. Current supplements: NutriVet Salmon Oil, Mercola Krill Oil, Mercola Ubiquinol (started both of those today), Probiotic Miracle Powder, and Benadryl 1/day (25 mg). The ONLY thing that seems to help with the itch is a round (or 2) of antibiotics and steroids. I hate doing that because of side effects, but I haven't found anything else that works. He's an inside dog, except to go outside to potty. Anything else I should try? I'm absolutely at wit's end and very frustrated. Help!
Gnasher
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

27-07-2016, 04:56 PM
Hang on a sec! I've heard of indoor cats but never indoor dogs. Are you saying he never goes out except to urinate and defecate?
LHARTWICK
New Member!
Female 

27-07-2016, 08:48 PM
Originally Posted by Gnasher View Post
Hang on a sec! I've heard of indoor cats but never indoor dogs. Are you saying he never goes out except to urinate and defecate?
I said he's inside EXCEPT to go potty. Yes - he goes outside to potty.
Trouble
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Diamond Supporter 

27-07-2016, 09:06 PM
Originally Posted by LHARTWICK View Post
I said he's inside EXCEPT to go potty. Yes - he goes outside to potty.
Does he not go for walks?
LHARTWICK
New Member!
Female 

27-07-2016, 09:20 PM