Or Register for FREE!





Anistel






raccoon's Avatar
Dogsey Junior
 
Dogs owned: Terriers!
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 29
08-07-2005, 12:24 PM   #1

Moving house - PC help pleeaase!!


Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award

Welcome to the Dogsey Forums!
Welcome to the LARGEST DOG FORUM in the world!!*

Welcome, you are seeing this message because you are viewing our dog owners forum as a guest. You are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Dog Lovers, on the biggest and best dog forum in the world!*

Doing so will unlock lots of features enabling you to participate on the site... and will also get rid of this message box and the advert on the left.

Click here to register for FREE!

*Dogsey hosts the largest English language dog-related forum in the world! By total number of posts.

Hoggett's Avatar
Dogsey Veteran
 
Dogs owned: Border Collie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Durham
Posts: 2,610
Hoggett is Male
08-07-2005, 12:40 PM   #2

Re: Moving house - PC help pleeaase!!


Hi Kate,

The only advice I have is to take it with you in your car (that's if you are travelling by car, the main problem is don't knock it around too much. Apart from that I can't help you.

Good luck

Ian



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


Fred's Avatar
Dogsey Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 8,014
Fred is Male
08-07-2005, 12:45 PM   #3

Re: Moving house - PC help pleeaase!!


Donīt worry just unplug everything put it in the car when you have a new place for it plug it in connect everything as it was it will work the same as before



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


Dogsey Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 7,369
08-07-2005, 12:46 PM   #4

Re: Moving house - PC help pleeaase!!


wrap it up in some bubble wrap or something and transport it in the car you are travelling in so it doesn't get knocked around...Your mums broadband will be fine with the computer but maybe you will have to install it to your computer as well as just plugging it in?? I'm not sure...Let us know if you find out.

Also I have heard it is worth backing up your system before moving the PC just incase, better to be safe then sorry



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


raccoon's Avatar
Dogsey Junior
 
Dogs owned: Terriers!
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 29
08-07-2005, 03:33 PM   #5

Re: Moving house - PC help pleeaase!!


Hi guys!

Thanks for your help, when you say backup, Mischievous, I'm guessing you mean to disc?? I'm not good at remembering to do this at all, which tempts fate I know!! I've already got broadband here at 512Kbps, so I'll be goin up in the world in one respect! So I'm presuming my PC will work fine (god help me if I can't get onto Dogweb!! Also, does anyone know if it's possible to buy some sort of plug-in to increase hard-drive memory and speed? Mum's comp is really really slow until she's connected to BB, she can't afford a new PC so need to look at - much - cheaper options!!

Thanks again!

Kate



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


Dogsey Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 7,369
08-07-2005, 03:44 PM   #6

Re: Moving house - PC help pleeaase!!


yes make a back up of your whole hard drive to disk

If your computer is fine with 512kb BB then it will be just fine with the extra speed...But I think you may have to install your mums version of BB to your computer so that it recognises the computer if you get what I mean...I'm not sure if you can just plug in the modem and go without doing some kind of installation first??

Yes you can buy lots of different storage solutions for computers that plug into the usb port...maybe buy one of those very thick and informative computer magazines, see if they have a review on any such products etc...I know I have one such mag knocking around here somewhere with a review of that kind...I will try and find it later on, maybe it will have a link to some sites to go look at.

When you say her computer was really slow until she conected to BB do you mean internet wise or in general??...cuz course it will be alot faster on BB the computer may otherwise be just fine

Still it is always a good idea not to clog up any PC by saving to much to your hard drive, so storage is a good idea does your PC have a dvd/cd re-writter?? because in that case of course you can save your stuff to cd or dvd instead of the hard drive.



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


raccoon's Avatar
Dogsey Junior
 
Dogs owned: Terriers!
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 29
08-07-2005, 04:51 PM   #7

Re: Moving house - PC help pleeaase!!


Hi again!!

And thanks again!!! I will contact my broadband supplier and see what they say about whether I need to do anything as regards to connecting my computer up to their broadband modem (that means presumably means the modem I have at the moment will be completely de-funct unless I changed the account to a new address right?? Gawd, I don't even make sense to myself!!).

Yes, I have got CD/DVD re-writers, will get onto that, thanks!! When I click onto control panel-system, it says my PC has 1.00 GB of RAM.

My mum's PC is just incredibly slow, snail-pace, it takes about half an hour just to get the box up to connect to the internet, it did have a bad virus once so maybe it never quite recovered!! It really isn't great, when you compare it's crudentials to mine, they're pretty pathetic!! 1KB broadband is wasted on it really!!

Thanks again for all your sound advice!!

Kate



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


Dogsey Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 7,369
08-07-2005, 04:56 PM   #8

Re: Moving house - PC help pleeaase!!


yeah if you are keeping your bb conection you will need to change your details to the new address phone number etc...if you are gonna close down your bb conection and use your mums as she already has it then i'm not sure if you can use the modem you already have or not?! which ever modem you can use if you are using your mums connection you must have to install it first, Ithink!

good luck



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award


Dogsey Junior
 
Dogs owned: saint bernard
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: belgium
Posts: 114
08-07-2005, 04:59 PM   #9

Re: Moving house - PC help pleeaase!!


we drove ours over to belgium with us from england and had no problems, we just got a very big box and bubble wrapped it and it was fine.



Reply With Quote Nominate this person for a Member of The Month award

Reply

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 




Copyright ©2004-2014, Dogsey.com