Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Maltheo
New Member!
Female 

24-06-2017, 08:27 PM

Chronic atrophic gastritis/colit/enterit

A very short introduction of us, as well as background information regarding my question below:

Hey there happy dog owners!

I'm new to the pact so to speak. I am the happiest "mother" of a 18 month old golden retriever boy who's name is Malte, but he has loads of other names as well.... maltheo, malty, maltis and so on.

Me and my dog are Swedes, which means that english is not our main language, so we hope that you all guys will be forgiving when it comes to gramar, spelling and choice of words, weird sentences etc.

Question:
I am writing to try to reach out to those of you who also has a dog with some sort of chronic gastritis.
Why? Because I want to know more about this disease, I wan't to get more experience through other dog owners, I wan't to know how Your life with Your dog looks like, and what question's I should both ask my self and my veterinary, as I wan't to do as many right desitions and choices as possible for Maltheo. I'm thinking such as what diet changes i can do, and if it is neccessary, and what the disease can cause, more that just a "bad tummy". I want to know if there are any studies worth reading or maybe a book. I wan't to know everything. I wan't to be able to understand his condition the best I can. He cannot make any choices, so it's my responsibility to make sure he get's the best out of this life.

My dog Maltheo got his diagnosis "Chronic atrophic gastritis and colit" in september 2016. He is born in november 2015, which makes him about 18 months old by now. His first sign of not being completely healthy was seen at the age of about 4-5 months. So it took about 5 months to get a diagnosis at the veterinary clinic.