Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
metalmorphosis
Dogsey Junior
Female 

22-02-2005, 11:23 PM

Best way to get into showing?

I'm looking to get a Boerboel bitch, and want to get into showing with her. I know it's highly unlikely for there to be breed classes, but maybe could enter in rare breeds/mastiff classes. I've never done this sort of thing before and haven't a clue how to start! Should I just look around for showing training classes then go from there?

This is thinking way ahead, as it probably won't be for at least a year that we even start looking for a pup (although I plan to use Accolade Boerboels) but I would like to give it a go....any pointers?
Saz
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-02-2005, 11:31 PM
Hiya, try getting your sup into ringcraft/obedience class in your local area. Try your local vets for the phone number of details of classes near you have fun, thats the main thing
metalmorphosis
Dogsey Junior
Female 

22-02-2005, 11:36 PM
Excellent! I've just moved to a new area so can't go on recommendations...is there anything in particular I should look out for in a good trainer (other than not beating the dogs into submission etc!) like any relevant qualifications?
Saz
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-02-2005, 12:48 AM
If it is one to one training you require then if you have a pc maybe you can have a look on there to see what is offered in your area. Try the kennell club to see if they have a list of registered dog trainers maybe. Or again your local vets should have advertisements. Give ringcraft a go, it will give your pup a chance to get used to a wide variety of dogs, will make it easier for you when it comes to showing i think.
Pita
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-02-2005, 06:49 AM