Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Springernut
New Member!
Female 

11-01-2010, 09:32 AM

10 week English Springer keeps biting my 7 year old daughter

Hi Everyone,
I am new to this Puppy stuff. we have had a our English Springer Spaniel for 3 weeks now, and he is adorable and we have fallen head over heals in love with him, the only problem is he nips alot at my daughter, he gets over excited and then dives at her, she tries to be brave but ends up getting very upset because she thinks he does not like her. Please can someone help, we say NO in aloud voice but this does not seem to work, if anything he comes back for more. I would appreciate any help, advice and someone please tell me this will stop.
Wozzy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

11-01-2010, 09:43 AM
Children have to be taught to be dog savvy and their initial reactions to a dog being over excited is to flap their hands, squeal, try to run away or whatever. What they generally dont do is remain calm! I'd say your pup thinks your daughter wants to play and is getting a bit too excited.

You dont actually say how your daughter is reacting to your pup so I apologise if i'm jumping to conclusions.
ClaireandDaisy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

11-01-2010, 09:44 AM
Your puppy doesn`t know what No means - he might even think you`re cheering him on. I would use a safety gate to separate them and calmly put him in another room when he starts so he can calm down (not as a punishment).
What is happening to get him so excited?
Springernut
New Member!
Female 

11-01-2010, 09:49 AM