Our sister sites
Our sister sites
lmgibbs4
New Member!
Female 

11-01-2012, 03:34 AM

Dog nutrition help

Hey there!

I am a graduate student pursuing my Master's in Mass Communication at the VCU Brandcenter. In order to graduate, I need to complete an Independent Study project, and my project is focusing on dog nutrition.

I would love to hear from other dog owners about what you feed your pup(s) and how you decide on which food to buy for them. Additionally, I'm interested to see if your personal diet affects how you feed your dog. For example, do you normally purchase natural/organic food for yourself, and therefore, your dog eats natural food as well.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Mackenzie
smokeybear
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

11-01-2012, 08:54 PM
I feed raw, have done so for over 10 years after a year's research on the subject.

I am somewhat less of a health nut myself...........
Jackalyn
Dogsey Senior
Female 

12-01-2012, 07:57 AM
Is it just pups you are interested in. My dogs are adults and they eat one meal of wainwrights dog tray mixed with a little handful of dry food(currently James well beloved). Then in the evening they have a meal of raw (chicken with bones, Tripe,beef, liver, heart, eggs, veg etc) , not all at the same time.

How I feed them is either by convenience or price. For instance a lot of my meat will be bought from the supermarket as it's convenient and a lot will be bought from a supplier as it's cheeper.

My personal diet does not effect my dogs diet, if anything my dogs diet effects mine as I always have fresh meat and vegetables in my house. Obviously would not eat meat from the supplier though. I do not usually buy organic due to the cost but would prefer to really. If there is not much difference in the price then I purchase it.
Fivedogpam
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-01-2012, 08:07 AM
My dogs and my cat all eat Arden Grange, both dry and tinned. They also have ad lib sardines, chicken wings and rib bones.