Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
madhouse
Dogsey Junior
Female 

17-11-2008, 10:11 AM

I need some body language help please

Before I go into the full story I'd like some opinions on the following situation:
Walking in a large open field, dog 1 approaches dog 2, both large breeds. Dog 1 has head held high trying to make eye contact, tail straight upright and wagging ever so slightly from side to side. Dog 2 has head and tail low, attempting to sniff at dog 1's rear end, but dog 1 keeps turning round quickly. After about 30 seconds a ruck breaks out with dog 2 attempting to get hold of the back of dog 1's neck lots of barking and snarling from both dogs, no blood drawn.

Which dog is the aggressor? Dog 1 is entire, dog 2 castrated, both dogs are around the same age.
I'll go into more detail after some replies - apologies for being so mysterious!
Ben Mcfuzzylugs
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-11-2008, 10:15 AM
I am not an expert but dog 1 sounds like it was in a fairly agressive stance and trying to out stair dog 2
dog 2 sounds like it was trying to do a doggy hello but might be a bit reactive and takking offence at dog 1's rudeness

tbh when Mia is doing a dog 1 I distract her or get her the h£ll out of there
Helena54
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-11-2008, 12:22 PM
Dog one is the aggressor in my view? Dog 2 was definitely being submissive via it's body language, although probably being a bit cheeky attempting to have a sniff, he should have read the signs a tad better imo! Dog 1 was probably in a grumpy mood and might not have gone for dog 2 anyway, but the sniffing continued, even though he had turned round quickly and said "oi, I don't want you doing that"! He was only telling him off anyway, if he'd wanted to go for the kill he would have gone for the back legs, they always do!
madhouse
Dogsey Junior
Female 

17-11-2008, 12:38 PM